Cowboys open season with 10th place finish at Sidney Invite


The Custer County District High School wrestling team took a small group of wrestlers to the season-opening Sidney Invite last weekend, where they placed 10th in the team standings with 47 points.

“For the kids that I took with us, we did a great job,” Cowboys Head Coach Jon Harris said. “They wrestled really hard. It wasn’t a real tough tournament, but it was a good opening weekend for us. I have a lot of young kids, so it showed them what they need to do, the hard work they need to do for the next couple months to make it through divisionals and state.”

Sidney ran away with the team title with 237 points. Bowman, N.D., was second with 148 and Forsyth was third at 139.5.

Cord Murray was the highlight for the Cowboys, winning the heavyweight division. He beat Hunter Herbaugh of Glendive in the championship bout.

Sophomore Torrey Watts had a good opening tournament, in a very tough weight class. He was third at 126 pounds, behind a pair of Sidney wrestlers. He also beat a Glendive wrestler, Anthony James, in the third-place match.

Wyatt Smith was fifth at 145 pounds and Bryan Brush and Alex Bradford each placed sixth at 160 pounds and heavyweight, respectively.

The Cowboys will be in action for the first time at home on Thursday night when they host Glendive in a dual.

Action gets started in the afternoon with a junior high meet. The JV wrestlers will start at 6 p.m., followed by the varsity at 7 p.m.

Sidney Invite


Sidney 237, Bowman 148, Forsyth 139.5, Glendive 129, Beulah 121, Killdeer 112, Williston 104, SIdney JV 53.5, Wolf Point 49, Miles City 47, Circle 41, Dickinson 27, Poplar 19, Bowman JV 15, Williston JV 14


98- Alex Madrigal, Bow; Dylan Taber, KD; Karson Wortmen, WP; DJ Martian, Bow; DJ Pogue, Beu.

106- Maestro Martinez, WP; Travis Kinn, Glen; Jeremy Leintz, Beu; Austin Luther, Will; Cade Kuntz, Dick; Quade Slater, Will.

113- Philip Vasco, Sid; Tyler Longland, Bow; Patrick Ferrel, Will; Brandt Ackerman, Glen; Cameron Fladland, Cir; Bryan Anayoh, Bow.

120- Trace Jones, Sid; Matt Carlson, Bow; Trey Sokoloski, Glen; Casey Christian, Sid; Roy Isom, Will.

126- Gresh Jones, Sid; Brady Gorder, Sid; Torrey Watts, MC; Anthony James, Glen; Tyler Erickson, Beu; Cole Dukart, KD.

132- Matt Weber, Fo; Ethan Graves, Sid; Layne Schafer, Sid; Tanner Rhode, KD; Tyrel Mellmer, Beu; Brayden Jorgenson, Bow.

138- Dillon Tennant, Glen; Rico Stormer, Cir; Layne Gorder, Pop; Tel Lordy, Bow; Trista Bush, For; Parker Dean, Sid.

145- Luke Weber, For; Dereck Tabor, KD; Tristan Miller, Beu; Curtis Summers, Bow; Wyatt Smith, MC; Sam Maisey, Will.

152- Braden Weber, For; Troy Steele, Bow; Bradyn Rooks, Sid; Dane Larson, KD; Jose Demas, Dick; Quincy Stormer, Cir.

160- Dillon Jepson, KD; Doug Rooney, Sid; Ty HOrning, Beu; Sterling Lee, Bow; Brent Doeden, Will; Bryan Brush, MC.

170- Cody Johnson, Sid; Ahren Gwynn, Will; Tyler Kutzler, Glen; Royce Horswill, KD; Matt Harris, Glen; Daniel Arthur, KD.

182- Chris Nile, For; Dace Fisher, Sid; Cory Turnquist, Will; David Hopson, WP; Justice Roundy, Beu; Michael Longland, Bow.

195- Brett Sandberg, Wil; Evan Mellmer, Beu; Garrett Darby, Sid; Steven Gabel, For; Gage Adams, For; Logan Jones, DIck.

220- Isaac Ripplinger, Beu; Hunter Severson, Sid; David Dukart, KD; Jacob Hildebrant, Bow; Austin Kendall, Sid; Sterling Quintanella, Dick.

Hwt- Cord Murray, MC; Hunter Herbaugh, Glen; Dylan Bell, For; Josh Alexander, Sid; Mac Stuber, Bow; Alex Bradford, MC.